Leaders in the Law. Advocates for Justice.

## PRESS RELEASE

## **CONTACT:**

Thomas Solberg State Bar of Wisconsin (608) 250-6025 (608) 630-0432 (cell) (800) 444-9404, ext. 6025 tsolberg@wisbar.org

## Attorney Kevin Klein elected State Bar of Wisconsin president-elect

**April 22, 2011 –** Attorney G. Kevin Klein of Phillips has been named president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin. He will serve in that post for one year beginning July 1, 2011 and will then take office as president of the State Bar for a one-year term beginning July 1, 2012.

Klein received 2,651 votes to defeat Atty. James Andrew Carney of Janesville, who received 2,144 votes. He will succeed Atty. Jim Brennan as president-elect. Brennan, of Milwaukee, succeeds Atty. James Boll, of Madison, as president on July 1, 2011.

Klein is a 1981 University of Wisconsin Law School graduate who has been a sole practitioner serving clients in Price and neighboring counties. He has served in a variety of senior State Bar leadership positions, including currently on the Board of Governors and its Executive Committee. He is also the Butternut Village Attorney, president of the Price County Bar Association and is involved in other community groups, including: the Phillips Chamber of Commerce Board; church finance committee; Flambeau Hospital Foundation; Price County Women's Health Alliance; the local food pantry; and youth and high school athletics coaching for multiple years.

"I am honored to have been elected to serve and lead our State Bar lawyers," Klein said. "I look forward to working with members to maximize their ability to efficiently and effectively practice law. The legal profession is an honored profession, which daily assists individuals and clients and protects the public as a whole."

Atty. Kelly C. Nickel of Elkhorn was elected State Bar treasurer, defeating Nicholas Vivian of Stillwater, Minn. and Nickolas Zales of Milwaukee. The treasurer holds the position for two years. Nickel received 1,608 votes, Vivian received 1,576 and Zales received 1,250.

William C. Gleisner III of Milwaukee was elected to a seat on the Judicial Council, which studies and makes recommendation to improve court organization and operations. He defeated Joseph M. Cardamone III of Kenosha and Beth Ermatinger Hanan of Milwaukee. The Judicial Council representative serves for three years. Gleisner received 1,801 votes, Hanan received 1,712 and Cardamone 1,061.

(more)

## April 22, 2011 Page Two

A total of 18 members were elected to the Board of Governors, the State Bar's policy-making body, where they will serve two-year terms. Districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 elected governors in 2011. District 2 (Milwaukee) elected seven; District 9 (Dane) elected three; and all other districts elected one. Those elected to serve on the Board of Governors are:

District 1: Joseph M. Cardamone III of Kenosha

**District 2:** Andrew P. Beilfuss, Arthur J. Harrington, Margaret W. Hickey, Lisa M. Lawless, Atheneé P. Lucas, Theodore Perlick Molinari and Thomas J. Phillips, all of Milwaukee

District 3: Jessica J. King of Oshkosh

District 5: Charles E. Hanson of La Crosse

District 6: Kimberly K. Haines of Delafield

**District 7:** William T. Curran of Mauston

District 9: Susan L. Collins, Patricia D. Struck and James S. Thiel, all of Madison

**District 11:** Richard J. Summerfield of Bloomer

**District 13:** Frederick B. Kaftan of West Bend

Election results for four State Bar division officer and director positions will be announced next week.

The State Bar of Wisconsin is the mandatory professional association, created by the Wisconsin Supreme Court, for attorneys who hold a Wisconsin law license. With more than 23,000 members, the State Bar aids the courts in improving the administration of justice, provides continuing legal education for its members to help them maintain their expertise, and assists Wisconsin lawyers in carrying out community service initiatives to educate the public about the legal system and the value of lawyers. For more information, visit <a href="https://www.wisbar.org">www.wisbar.org</a>.

# # #